

PROCLAMATION

Recognizing the January 2024 Severe Weather Emergency Response in the City of Wauwatosa

WHEREAS, between the hours of 9:00 am on Friday, January 12, 2024 and 9:00 am on Saturday, January 13, 2024, the City of Wauwatosa received an estimated 14.0 inches of heavy, wet snow in a storm that affected most of Southeastern Wisconsin.

WHEREAS, in anticipation of and response to the storm, the City of Wauwatosa Department of Public Works began plowing and salting operations at 6:00 am on Friday, January 12 and didn't conclude until 3:00 pm on Sunday, January 14.

WHEREAS, the Department's emergency response included use of 28 different pieces of snow removal equipment, along with 46 equipment operators, mechanics, and administrative personnel who worked over 760 hours combined. Additionally, over 1,000 tons of salt and 4,245 gallons of brine were used to bring our roads to a safe condition.

WHEREAS, immediately following the storm, a week of sub-zero temperatures gripped the region and complicated removal efforts, bringing wind chills down to minus 30 degrees Fahrenheit and freezing the fallen snow in place.

WHEREAS, the snow and ice combination caused significant damage across the City of Wauwatosa, including damage to more than 700 city-owned trees that the City's Forestry Department expeditiously addressed in the frigid temperatures.

WHEREAS, the City of Wauwatosa Police Department patrol officers and dispatchers joined the emergency response in addressing dozens of accidents, downed electrical wires, traffic management, and impassible roads, ensuring the city did not experience any serious injuries or fatalities.

WHEREAS, during the 24 hours of snowfall, the City of Wauwatosa Fire Department responded to over 100 calls, including calls for arcing electrical wires, dangerous fallen trees, and small indoor fires.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT KNOWN, the Mayor and Common Council of the City of Wauwatosa commemorate these extraordinary efforts and express their gratitude to the employees of the Department of Public Works, Police Department, and Fire Department.

Dated this 6th day of February 2024.

Dennis McBride, Mayor	
James Moldenhauer, District 1	Andrew Meindl, District 1
John Dubinski, District 2	Margaret Arney, District 2
Joseph Makhlouf III, District 3	Robin Brannin, District 3
Ernst Franzen, District 4	David Lewis, District 4
Joel Tilleson, District 5	Sean Lowe, District 5
Meagan O'Reilly, District 6	Joe Phillips, District 6
Mike Morgan, District 7	Amanda Fuerst, District 7
Jason Wilke, District 8	Melissa Dolan, District 8