24-0989



## Wauwatosa, WI

# **Common Council**

### **Meeting Minutes - Final**

Tuesday, July 2, 2024

7:30 PM

Council Chambers and Zoom: https://servetosa.zoom.us/j/273225010, Meeting ID: 273 225 010

#### Regular Meeting

#### CALL TO ORDER

Mayor McBride called the meeting to order at 7:43 PM.

#### **PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE**

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

#### **ROLL CALL**

**Present:** 14 Alderperson District 8 Council President Jason Wilke

Alderperson District 2 Margaret Arney Alderperson District 3 Robin Brannin Alderperson District 6 Aletha Champine

Alderperson District 2 Brad Foley
Alderperson District 4 Ernst Franzen
Alderperson District 3 Joseph Makhlouf II
Alderperson District 5 Rob Gustafson
Alderperson District 5 Sean Lowe
Alderperson District 1 Andrew Meindl
Alderperson District 1 James Moldenhauer

Alderperson District 6 Joe Phillips Alderperson District 7 Mike Morgan Alderperson District 8 Melissa Dolan Alderperson District 4 David Lewis

Excused: 2 Alderperson District 4 David Lewis Alderperson District 7 Amanda Fuerst

#### APPROVAL OF MINUTES

1. Approval of minutes of the June 18, 2024 regular meeting

RESULT: APPROVED MOVER: Ernst Franzen SECONDER: Robin Brannin

Aye: 14 Wilke, Arney, Brannin, Champine, Foley, Franzen, Makhlouf II,

Gustafson, Lowe, Meindl, Moldenhauer, Phillips, Morgan, and Dolan

**Excused:** 2 Lewis, and Fuerst

#### **APPOINTMENTS BY THE MAYOR**

1. Reappointment by Mayor McBride of Dan Beyer (District 4) as a member of the Wauwatosa Design Review Board, term ending June 30, 2026

RESULT: APPROVED
MOVER: Jason Wilke
SECONDER: Ernst Franzen

Aye: 14 Wilke, Arney, Brannin, Champine, Foley, Franzen, Makhlouf II,

Gustafson, Lowe, Meindl, Moldenhauer, Phillips, Morgan, and Dolan

**Excused:** 2 Lewis, and Fuerst

2. Reappointment by Mayor McBride of Carolyn Stuessy (District 5) as a member of the Wauwatosa Design Review Board, term ending June 30, 2026

RESULT: APPROVED
MOVER: Jason Wilke
SECONDER: Ernst Franzen

Aye: 14 Wilke, Arney, Brannin, Champine, Foley, Franzen, Makhlouf II,

Gustafson, Lowe, Meindl, Moldenhauer, Phillips, Morgan, and Dolan

**Excused:** 2 Lewis, and Fuerst

3. Appointment by Mayor McBride of Matthew Jaworski (District 6) as a student member of the Wauwatosa Youth Commission, term ending May 31, 2026

RESULT: APPROVED
MOVER: Jason Wilke
SECONDER: Ernst Franzen

Aye: 14 Wilke, Arney, Brannin, Champine, Foley, Franzen, Makhlouf II,

Gustafson, Lowe, Meindl, Moldenhauer, Phillips, Morgan, and Dolan

Excused: 2 Lewis, and Fuerst

4. Reappointment by Mayor McBride of Julia Murphy (District 4) of the Wauwatosa Senior Commission, term ending April 30, 2027

**RESULT:** HELD

5. Appointment by Mayor McBride of Christine Lindstrom (District 5) as a member of the Wauwatosa Library Board, term ending June 30, 2027

**RESULT:** HELD

6. Appointment by Mayor McBride of Julia Murphy (District 4) as a member of the Wauwatosa Commission for Persons with Disabilities, term ending March 31, 2027

**RESULT:** HELD

7. Reappointments by Mayor McBride of Dave Amoroso (District 8),
Megan Tanel (District 1), Daniel Underberg (District 5), and Chantal
Bazzoni-Boncher (District 6) as members of the Wauwatosa Tourism
Commission, terms ending July 31, 2025

RESULT: HELD

**8.** Appointment by Mayor McBride of Linda Gulrajani (District 7) as a member of the Wauwatosa Tourism Commission, term ending July 31, 2025

**24-0979** 

RESULT: HELD

9. Appointment of Mark Hammond to the position of Development Director, effective September 3, 2024

24-0824

Motion by Alder Dolan to call the question. Second by Alder Wilke. Motion passed 9-5.

RESULT: APPROVED
MOVER: Jason Wilke
SECONDER: Margaret Arney

Aye: 11 Wilke, Arney, Brannin, Champine, Foley, Franzen, Gustafson, Lowe,

Moldenhauer, Phillips, and Dolan

Nay: 2 Makhlouf II, and Meindl

**Excused:** 2 Lewis, and Fuerst

**Abstain:** 1 Morgan

#### FROM THE GOVERNMENT AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

1. Ordinance amending Secs. 2.02.070, 2.02.100, 2.02.120, and 2.24.030
relative to setting meeting dates and times for the Common Council and
Standing Committees, the process for adopting ordinances and other
actions, and the process for approvals of Plan Commission-related items

Motion by Alder Meindl to hold the item. Second by Alder Makhlouf. Motion failed 2-12.

Motion by Alder Meindl to strike Part IV of the proposed ordinance changes. Second by Alder Makhlouf. Motion failed 2-12.

RESULT: ADOPTED

MOVER: Ernst Franzen

SECONDER: Joseph Makhlouf II

**Aye:** 12 Wilke, Arney, Brannin, Champine, Foley, Franzen, Gustafson, Lowe,

Moldenhauer, Phillips, Morgan, and Dolan

Nay: 2 Makhlouf II, and Meindl

**Excused:** 2 Lewis, and Fuerst

Enactment No: O-24-21

2. Resolution granting a New Retail Class "B" Beer and "Class B" Liquor 24-0981

license by Hotel Investment Group LLC, Jatin Patel - Agent, d/b/a Sonesta Hotel, 10499 W. Innovation Drive, for the period ending June 30, 2025

RESULT: APPROVED Ernst Franzen

**SECONDER:** Joseph Makhlouf II

Aye: 14 Wilke, Arney, Brannin, Champine, Foley, Franzen, Makhlouf II,

Gustafson, Lowe, Meindl, Moldenhauer, Phillips, Morgan, and Dolan

Excused: 2 Lewis, and Fuerst

Enactment No: R-24-111

#### FROM THE FINANCIAL AFFAIRS COMMITTEE

1. Ratification of Comptroller's Office bills and claims report, June 19 through July 2, 2024

**RESULT:** RATIFIED

**MOVER:** James Moldenhauer

**SECONDER:** Joe Phillips

Aye: 14 Wilke, Arney, Brannin, Champine, Foley, Franzen, Makhlouf II,

Gustafson, Lowe, Meindl, Moldenhauer, Phillips, Morgan, and Dolan

**Excused:** 2 Lewis, and Fuerst

#### FUTURE COUNCIL COMMITTEE AGENDA ITEMS

1. Future Council committee agenda items

24-0988

Alder Meindl requested a review and presentation of City Communication quality control.

Alder Meindl requested an update on the Boston Store project.

**RESULT:** INFORMATIONAL ONLY

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

Meeting adjourned at 8:35 PM.