To: Mayor Dennis McBride and City Council Members

From: Wauwatosa Housing Coalition

The Ad Hoc Regional Land Trust Committee, established last September by the Council, will be presenting an update report at the Community Affairs Committee on July 11th. The Wauwatosa Housing Coalition wants to express its continued support for exploring this strategy as one solution to increasing affordable housing in Wauwatosa.

The Housing Coalition is pleased that the City Council set up this ad hoc community to study the feasibility and requirements for a Community Land Trust for Wauwatosa. We are pleased that the committee includes a member of the Housing Coalition, Ann Heidkamp, as well as representatives from Milwaukee County, Wauwatosa City Council, and community housing organizations.

This broad group of stakeholders has a combination of expertise and vital connections which has been essential to the Committee's progress so far in understanding the issues involved in developing a land trust and in determining the structures and resources to make it happen.

As the city's recent Housing Study showed:

- 25% of Wauwatosa's residents are "housing burdened" meaning they spend more than 30% of their income on housing.
- Since 2020 rents have increased 20% and home prices by 24%.
- Affordability is the leading housing related concern for residents.

The city must address the issue of increasing affordable and accessible housing with a variety of strategies. A Community Land Trust is one of these strategies, and the only strategy that ensures the affordability of the property in perpetuity.

We ask that the City Council continue to support the work of the ad hoc committee and carefully consider its recommendations when they are presented later this year or early next year.

Sincerely,

For the Wauwatosa Joint Housing Coalition

- Ann Heidkamp, Tosa Together, 7329 W. Lloyd St, Wauwatosa, 53213
- Ursula Twombly, Tosa Together
- Dain Maddox, Senior Commission
- Kathy Causier, Senior Commission
- Rosemary Fox, Equity and Inclusion Commission
- Jordan Roman, Equity and Inclusion Commission
- Julie Alexander, Commission for Persons with Disabilities
- Mary Walz-Chojnacki, Commission for Persons with Disabilities