

ALDERPERSON AGENDA ITEM MEMO

To:	Government Affairs Committee; Ernie Franzen, Chair
From:	Amanda Fuerst
Date:	02/07/2025
Subject:	2026 Committee Restructuring

A. Background/Rationale

A continued discussion on options for the 2026 council of 12's committee structure.

B. Key Issues for Consideration

With several recent changes to streamline our zoning code and increase utilizing the speciality of the Planning Commission, the Community Affairs Committee has only met a handful of times since April 2024, and even fewer of those meetings required a vote. The current arrangement leads to an imbalance of opportunity for alders to participate at the committee level.

With the reduction of the council to 12, and a goal of equal participation/opportunity outside of common council meetings, some balanced options are

Option 1: 3 Committees (Governments Affairs, Financial Affairs, Transportation/Infrastructure)

- a. Each alder serves on 1 committee with 4 alders on a committee
- b. Each alder serves on 2 committees with 8 alders on a committee.

This option is less balanced in council participation ($\frac{1}{3}$ or $\frac{2}{3}$) compared to the existing 50% split.

Option 2: 4 Committees, each alder serving on 2 committees of 6 members

- 1. Government Affairs (6 members)
- 2. Financial Affairs (6 members)
- 3. Transportation Affairs (6 members)
- 4. Community Affairs (6 members)

Community Affairs could remain as is or be restructured to have more responsibility

Option 3: (Variation on Option 2) 3 Committees plus 6 liaison appointment seats that have a vote with a significant or financial impact to the City.

(Continued on page 2)



ALDERPERSON AGENDA ITEM MEMO

Option 3 Example:

Each alder is assigned to 2 of the following groups:

- 1. Government Affairs (6 seats)
- 2. Financial Affairs (6 seats)
- 3. Transportation (Infrastructure) Affairs (6 seats)
- 4. A seat on one of the following:
 - a. Planning Commission (2 seats currently)
 - b. Community Development Authority (2 seats currently)
 - c. Visit Milwaukee /Tourism Board pending state statute (1 seat)
 - d. Board of Public Works (1 seat currently)

For consideration, these are all other seats that currently allow the appointed alder to hold a vote:

- Board of Health (1 seat)
- Board of Parks and Forestry (1 seat, voting rules determined by this board)
- Historic Preservation Commission (1 seat)
- Sustainability Committee (1 seat)
- Community Development Block Grant Committee (1 seat)

Currently we have 16 alders to serve as a liaison to our boards/commissions/committees. With fewer alders to serve as liaisons in 2026, a committee may not have a liaison or some alders will have to double their assignments. By moving several of these seats to the equivalent of an aldermanic committee based on voting power, there is more flexibility to cover the appointments with fewer alders.

Current Liaison Appointments: (17 groups, 19 seats)

Bicycle and Pedestrian Committee Commission on Persons with Disabilities **Civic Celebration Commission** Equity and Inclusion Commission Library Board Senior Commission Youth Commission **Tourism Commission** *Community Development Block Grant Committee *Board of Health *Board of Parks and Forestry *Historic Preservation Commision *Sustainability Commission *Visit Milwaukee *Planning Commission (2 seats) *Community Development Authority (2 seats) *Board of Public Works